top of page
View Collection

Heading off to Uni?

If, like me, you're heading off to uni this year, you may have a few concerns about a shower of things.

ONE! WHERE DO I GOOOOOO :0 This may be you struggling over which university you're going to choose or maybe you've already chosen and you're worried about getting lost on your first day and turning up to your first lecture, hot, bedraggled and confused. Try not to worry. Now, I know that's like telling someone who just fell in a thorny bush not to bleed but honestly, it is not likely to even be half as painful as you think it will (uni not the bush... ouch).

Find your way (Free from Wix)

If you're living in halls, there are bound to be at least 10 people you meet who are just as worried as you and at least if you get lost you'll know your roommate is out there and you're not the only one. Besides there could even be 100's of other students heading to exactly the same place as you. Ask them and follow them, it could be a great way to find new friends and revision buddies too! You could always ask a an innocent local where you need to go in a panicky yell and scare the bejeezus out of them... Forgetting all the if's and buts, in our world today, almost everyone has Google maps on their phone and your campus is bound to be on their, I can honestly say it's got me out of some sticky situations.

Revision Buddies (Free from Wix)

TWO! What about home :(

Leaving home can be difficult and it's a sad time for a lot of people no matter whether they're going to university, going on holiday or just getting a place of their own. My first piece of advice is to let it sink in. Before packing your backs and buying a one way ticket straight back to your cosy bed at home, take time to get used to being away from the people and places you're used to. Allow yourself to make friends then see if you feel differently. I myself have a boyfriend and am so worried about the money it will cost to attempt at keeping the relationship together but I am still going to give it a try before abandoning the thought of either boo or uni. Which brings me on to my second point, boyfriends. My personal advice is, if you believe in the relationship and have a burning desire for it to continue, don't break up. You might struggle for a while but if it's meant to be it will be. Some people make it and others don't it's just a matter of the couple, not the distance.

Home Sweet Home (Free from Wix)

THREE! (My final concern) Money... Money may be the biggest dread many students have before they get to uni and maybe even through it. Truthfully, I'm not sure how to console you on this matter. University is a mass of drunken blurs, occasional lectures and buying stuff you don't need (at least from what I've head) and it's bound to cost a little... o_O All I can suggest is make sure you apply for student finance and be frugal where you can be. 96% of students have some form of job during their first year of university so it might be worth checking out vacancies before you arrive and if you can't find anything, try helping other students out for a little cash in hand. Pinterest has some great ideas for creative ways of making money as a student, check them out.

Drunken Mess (Free from Wix)

You'll do great (Free from Wix)

Please comment if you have any uni worries, I'd love to chat with you and good luck wherever you go!! :D

I know I might not be accurate with everything I've spoken about in this post but most of it is personal advice and opinion. As this is my first blog post (eek) please go easy on me but I accept any constructive criticism to improve my next post. :) Thank you... x

bottom of page