top of page
View Collection

Birthday cake


So a birthday comes along and let's face it, if you didn't get a cake, you'd be pretty dissapointed. That's why I made one for my boyfriend's birthday today (finished product pictured above). Since he's working right now I'm gonna post lovely pictures of the delicious cake. A delicious cake that is currently taunting me from under clingfilm in the kitchen.

It is a marble cake, chocolate and vanilla with chocolate chips in the vanilla parts though there seem to be more chocolate chips in the parts I cut away. The photo above is only half the mix so there's a bit of chocolate contamination from spoon sharing.

To be awesome I shaped them in to a number 2 and a 0 because he's 20 today.

After baking and shaping it I filled it with some irresistible chocolate cream and covered the whole thing in chocolate. Drooling yet?

When the chocolate was set I made lovely swirls of chocolate cream around the tops and squished a profiterole onto each cream swirl before drizzling them with chocolate sauce.

As a final touch I sprinkled gold and silver edible stars on the top of each profiterole. That last part may have been a mistake because it looked a little Christmasy/new yearsish but I was still pretty proud of it and my boyfriend likes it which is all that matters.

bottom of page