top of page
View Collection

Decorating for Christmas 😁🎅


The first of December is upon us. Woop woop! That means, sparkles, ribbons, Christmas smells and plenty of paper cuts from furiously wrapping last minute gifts.

Being at university in my own (shared) home, I took it up on myself to prettyfy the place with plenty of glitter. Every decoration is handmade because it seemed like a good idea at the time that was, before I took a trip to Poudland for cookies and found loads of decorations that would have cost the same or less.

It's the thought that counts...

Making everything was pretty fun anyway and it meant I was recycling a whole load of toilet roll tubes. Win for planet E.

Being the insanity that I am, I made every decoration without telling any of my flatmates and only asked my boyfriend to help. He kindly did and I'm pretty sure he enjoyed being covered in glue and gold sparkles. There was a point to the hours of crippled hands though. I kept every decoration secret and hidden in my room so my flatmates would be surprised when they woke up this morning and it might kinda feel like santa or his elves had been. The thought made me all happy n stuff.

Obviously because it was supposed to be a surprise I had to make sure no one came in my room and saw the decorations on my desk and that no body burst into the kitchen/living room while I was putting them up. This meant I had to stay awake until early hours and I only attached the last decoration to the ceiling at 2am this morning! Crazy right.

Each hanging decoration is handmade (snowflakes, fan baubles, Christmas trees and paper snowflakes) There are some of those snowflake window stickers as well which you can see in the background of some images below.

I left some little gifts out for everyone too and hung little chocolates on their doors. Snowmen for the girls, Santas for the guys and a little pudding for little old me. I'll post a bit of a gift guide soon, with all the gifts I got for my flatmates included.

And of course, I just had to string up some fairy lights. These were £2.50 from Primark, there's 40 lights in the box but it's double wired so they weren't as long as I'd hoped but they look pretty and that's all I needed.

Have fun decorating :)

bottom of page